Where Trust Lies By Janette Oke and Laurel Oke Logan

Beth Thatcher returns home for a summer vacation from her teaching job in the improvised mining town of Coal Valley. She loves her job, the people, and the children, but looks forward to rest and quite time with her family. She also has growing affections for a Mountie serving in the area name Jarrick Thorton. Was he the “one”? They agree to keep in touch during the summer, getting to know each other better.
She hasn’t even unpacked when it becomes apparent there will be no rest or quite time! Her family wants to whisk her off on a 6 week cruise stopping at all the big cities from Canada to the U.S., ending in New York City! She wants to decline but her family won’t hear of it. Her father promises to relay mail or telegrams from Jarrick and the school about her teaching position the coming year.
She does look forward to reconnecting with her family, especially her younger sister Julie. This requires Beth to tag along on the many activities youthful Julie enjoys. As if that isn’t exhausting enough, her sister becomes involved with some “modern” friends on the trip. Beth has reservations but doesn’t want to be judgmental. Julie is too stubborn to listens to her sister’s concerns, so Beth makes sure she keeps an eye on her. The trip is anything but dull! The family is confronted with numerous surprises and even tragedy.
The book was fun and enjoyable to read. I learned a great deal about travel during that era, especially by ship. To me there was much hardship in spite of the fact that the Thatchers were wealthy and had first class accommodations. I had stark realization of the hardship dealing with emergencies when away from home without our modern day technology! I was on pins and needles!
I thoroughly enjoyed the first book of the Return to the Canadian West Series, Where Courage Calls. You will want to read the first book, but this can be read as a standalone. A very enjoyable book, but of course you can never go wrong with Janet Oke! I am looking forward to the next one!
I received this book free from Bethany House Publishers in exchange for an honest review. The opinions stated are my own.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s